Questions on finishing a walnut and pine railing

Marc · Nov 7, 2023, 16:06

Hi ARDEC team,

I only just came across your website while looking for various items to finish my cottage railing.
I have very little hands-on experience with finishing. I've read and watched so many different options on finishings that I feel rather confused about what I need to do to get the finish I want and concerned that I'm going to apply the wrong product and have to redo the work. I've read through your forum and I'm impressed with your knowledge and product selection.
I've added images below for clarity of the project. I've used pine for the 8x8 railing posts as well as the plate and trim. The handrails are walnut with live edge underside, and balusters are 3/4" square black steel with one or two knuckles. I love the contrasting colour of the darker heartwood and lighter sapwood of the two walnut handrail pieces, and I love their variations in grain patterns. I want to emphasize both of those aspects in the finishing. I have a few questions, so please bare with this lengthy post.

Regarding the walnut handrails:
1. What to use to fill the upper holes in the underside of the handrail where the balusters insert, to hold them in place. I want something matte black to blend with the balusters, and since it is the underside it must be thick enough not to come out while it dries/cures. I could just use a black silicone, but wondering if a black wood filler would be better.
2. What to use to fill the imperfections (small cracks and holes - see pictures) on the vertical sides of the railing? A black or walnut coloured Epoxy? Timbermate wood filler? It will need to be thick enough not to drip out.
3. What to use to emphasize the intricate grain patterns. I've read and seen videos about using a darkened grain filler to help emphasize grain. What do you recommend?