Enduro Clear Poly by General Finishes

New Product Professional Use

from $105.95
Free Delivery
Quebec, Ontario · More info
This product is sensitive to freezing.

Enduro Clear Poly is General Finishes’s most durable monocomponent topcoat. This professional favorite is the preferred choice of cabinetmakers who want fast build and dry times, better application performance and superior feel. It’s also popular for use on furniture and millwork.

A favorite of professional finishers, Enduro Clear Poly is a high-performing non-yellowing water-based topcoat fortified with polyurethane that delivers a clear, tough, durable, and abrasion-resistant finish. It is clear drying, non-flammable, low odor, and easy to use. Clear Poly can be used on any project where more solids (28%) and durability are desired.

Enduro Clear Poly can be ordered tinted, we can reproduce most colors of Benjamin Moore®, Sherwin William®, Sico®, Para Paint®, Dulux®, California Paints®, Ral Design®. However please note that colors of the Benjamin Moore CC series (Canadian Colours) can no longer be replicated through our coloring system.

General Finishes Enduro Clear Poly and White Poly can be tinted. Please note that if you require a "pure" or dark color, you need to purchase Clear Poly, which is transparent. If however you require a pastel color, you'll need to purchase White Poly. Ardec reserves the right to substitute Clear and White Poly to make sure you obtain the color match you requested, whether it's "pure" or "pastel".

Directions for Use

Step 1: Surface Preparation

All wood projects require preparation sanding. If you skip this critical step, your finish may fail.

Raw wood

  1. Sand with 120-grit sandpaper followed by 220-grit.
  2. Remove dust.

New Stained Surface: Do not sand. Apply directly to stained surface.

Sealed Surface

  1. Scuff clean with a Scotch-Brite™ pad or maroon synthetic steel wool & 50:50 mix of denatured alcohol & water.
  2. Dry 1-2 hours.
  3. Sand lightly with 220-320-grit foam sanding sponge.
  4. Remove Dust

Step 2: How to apply General Finishes Enduro Clear Poly

CAUTION:
Do NOT use GF Clear Poly or any other clear coat, over white or light paints such as GF Milk Paint, or GF White Poly as it may cause yellowing. Any clear coat can become reactive over wood substrates or existing finishes, causing tannin or dye bleed-though regardless of priming. All of GF's white paints are self-sealing and do NOT require a topcoat.

  1. Work in a well-ventilated area.
  2. Stir thoroughly to reincorporate solids that have settled to the bottom of the can before and throughout the application process.
  3. Test for adhesion over an existing finish.
  4. Thin as desired with distilled water; start with 5%, adding up to 10% by volume.
  5. Increase open time, if needed, with 10-15% General Finishes Extender if allowed by local regulations. GF Extender will improve flow and leveling and increase open time, which is helpful in dry climates.
  6. Ready to spray from container. Apply a minimum of 3 coats: additional coats may be applied to increase depth and durability.
  7. If a faster build is desired over raw wood, use General Finishes Sanding Sealer for the first coat.
  8. Finish sand between coats with a fine-grade (220-320) foam sanding pad to improve smoothness and adhesion.
  9. Remove dust with a vacuum, compressed air, an oil-free tack cloth or a water-dampened rag.

Warning: Do not use water-based products with Linseed Oils or Danish Oils.

Yellowing & Clear Topcoat

As is true of most "water-white" topcoats, General Finishes water-based topcoats dry clear over non-reactive substrates, such as plastic or metal, except General Finishes Enduro-Var, which ambers. When white paint sealed with a water-white topcoat is applied to something as unpredictable as wood, all bets are off and the reason for yellowing is often unknown. It can be caused by topcoat activating tannins in raw wood or aniline dyes, stains, or contaminants in a pre-existing finish. This is most evident when using BRIGHT WHITE paint and most prevalent in sculpted details of furniture where the topcoat can collect, intensifying color change to an unacceptable level.

There is no reliable way to predict whether yellowing will occur and to what degree. Every existing finish is different and we rarely know the finishing provenance on an existing piece. Every tree is different and every piece of wood is unique. Raw wood can bleed tannins immediately after the topcoat dries or months later with seasonal temperature changes. Oak, pine, mahogany, and douglas fir are particularly prone to bleed-through.

Summary

  • Whites have a lower “hide” quality and are more transparent than most other colors. Nearly all bright whites require additional coats to achieve the desired color and minimize color variation. This can increase the cost of paint finishing. Always include a clause in your contracts addressing the need for additional coats to achieve coverage.
  • All bright white paint will yellow slightly with time, with or without topcoat. You have probably tried to touch up white woodwork in your home after several years and noticed the new paint is brighter.
  • The underlying finish or wood species can affect the final color of light paint.
  • Details and inside corners are difficult to cover with any paint color, but it tends to be more noticeable with whites. This is a naturally occurring phenomenon in paint application and does not necessarily constitute a defect in the paint finish or your technique.
  • The more porous the paint, such as a chalk paint, the more likely that yellowing will occur. The topcoat is seeping through the spaces caused by the larger particles of filler that give Chalk Paints their texture.

Tips to Prevent Yellowing

  • If it is a low-use project, use a premium white paint that is self-sealing and does not require a topcoat. A clear topcoat is not required on General Finishes Milk Paint for increased durability, as it is a self-sealing, exterior-rated coating with high durability and chemical and water resistance. However, topcoats do provide a smooth surface that is easier to clean and boosts durability for high-use projects, such as tabletops and kitchen cabinets.
  • Use a professional spray such as General Finishes Enduro White Poly. It has "increased topcoat properties," is a standalone finish when 3 coats are applied, and does not require sealing with a topcoat.
  • We recommend using General Finishes Stain Blocker, an engineered chemical barrier, to prevent persistent bleed-through for interior-use projects.
    • Stain Blocker does not adhere to melamine cabinet veneers.
    • Stain Blocker cannot be tinted.
  • Always test your project's ENTIRE finishing schedule (from cleaning to topcoat) on an inside door or a more hidden area of the piece. This will not help if the yellowing occurs later, but at least you will know if there is an immediate problem.
  • Avoid painting period furniture, such as a 1940s serpentine mahogany desk, with light colors. The pieces were often finished in stain that contained aniline dyes, which cast a pinkish bleed-through under light paint. Not every piece of furniture is suitable for upcycling with a light paint color. Pine, mahogany, and furniture of the 1940s and 50s are a red flag.
  • Last, not all manufacturers' topcoats are compatible with other finishes and may react with a color change. Always follow best practices by not rushing, and testing to your satisfaction first.

Knots
Knots in wood tend to bleed and are dense, making paint and stain adhesion a challenge. Stain Blocker may improve adhesion and prevent bleed-through for painting projects. Pine knots are especially difficult to cover with white or light paints. If you decide to paint over them, apply 3 coats of Stain Blocker first; however, we cannot guarantee adhesion or bleed-through blockage. You are better off using a dark paint on pine.

Variants

3.78 L (gallon) · Colored - Satin $139.95 In stock
3.78 L (gallon) · Flat $105.95 In stock
3.78 L (gallon) · Gloss $105.95 In stock
3.78 L (gallon) · Satin $105.95 In stock
3.78 L (gallon) · Semi-Gloss $105.95 In stock
3.78 L (gallon) · Tinted - Flat $139.95 In stock
3.78 L (gallon) · Tinted - Gloss $139.95 In stock
3.78 L (gallon) · Tinted - Semi-Gloss $139.95 In stock

Specifications

Classification Wood Lacquers
Brand General Finishes
Size 3.78 L (gallon)
Sold Since November 16, 2021
Drying Time

Dry Time - Touch 30+ min.
Dry Time - Recoat 2+ hr
Dry Time - Light Use 7-10 days
Dry Time - Cure 21 days

Coverage

450 square feet per gallon

VOCs

Flat: 227 g/L
Satin: 230 g/L
Semi-Gloss: 210 g/L
Gloss: 233 g/L

Aspect

Water white (dries clear)

Storage

Store above 10°C and below 27°C, out of direct sun‐light, tightly sealed. Finish preservers such as Bloxygen can help prolong storage life. Best if used within one year of date on can. Unopened and properly stored finish can conservatively last up to 5 years.

Luster

Flat: 10 or less
Satin: 25-35
Semi-Gloss: 50-60
Gloss : 80+

Nozzle Tip Size

HVLP: 1.1mm - 1.3mm

Solids

28%

Number of Coats

3 coats

Application Method

Spray (This product cannot be applied manually / not brushable)

Similar Products

Complementary Products

Review

There is currently no review for this product. Be the first to submit one!

          

Terms of Sales · Privacy · En français

Welcome! Our website is also available in English, would you like to visit the English version?   Yes

Enduro Clear Poly de General Finishes

Nouveauté Usage professionnel

à partir de 105,95 $
Livraison gratuite
Québec, Ontario · Détails
Ce produit est sensible au gel.

Enduro Clear Poly est le produit de finition monocomposante la plus durable de General Finishes. Ce favori des professionnels est le choix préféré des ébénistes qui veulent des temps de travail et de séchage rapides, de meilleures performances d'application et une finition supérieure. Il est également populaire pour une utilisation sur les meubles et la menuiserie.

Un favori des finisseurs professionnels, Enduro Clear Poly est une couche de finition à base d'eau non jaunissante hautes performances enrichie de polyuréthane qui offre une finition claire, solide, durable et résistante à l'abrasion. Il s'agit d'un produit au séchage clair, ininflammable, à faible odeur et facile à utiliser. Enduro Clear Poly peut être utilisé sur n'importe quel projet où plus de solides (28 %) et de durabilité sont souhaités.

Enduro Clear Poly peut être commandé coloré, nous pouvons reproduire la plupart des couleurs de Benjamin Moore®, Sherwin William®, Sico®, Peinture Para®, Dulux®, California Paints®, et Ral Design®. Veuillez toutefois noter que les couleurs de la série CC (Couleurs canadiennes) de Benjamin Moore ne peuvent désormais plus être reproduites par notre système de coloration.

Les produits General Finishes Enduro Clear Poly et White Poly peuvent être colorés. Veuillez noter que si vous désirez une couleur "pure" ou foncée, vous devez vous procurer le produit Clear Poly, qui est transparent. Si vous souhaitez toutefois obtenir une couleur pastel, vous devez vous procurer le White Poly. Ardec se réserve le droit de substituer les produits Clear Poly et White Poly afin de vous offrir la couleur que vous avez spécifié, selon qu'elle soit "pure" ou "pastel".

Utilisation

Étape 1 : Préparation de la surface

Tous les projets de finition du bois nécessitent un sablage de préparation. Si vous sautez cette étape critique, votre finition peut échouer.

Bois brut

  1. Sablez avec du papier abrasif de grain 120 suivi d'un grain 220.
  2. Éliminez la poussière.

Nouvelle surface teinte : Ne pas sabler. Appliquer directement sur la surface teinte.

Surface scellée

  1. Nettoyez avec un tampon Scotch-Brite™ ou un tampon abrasif non tissé marron et un mélange 50:50 d'alcool dénaturé et d'eau.
  2. Laisser sécher pendant 1 à 2 heures.
  3. Sablez légèrement avec une éponge abrasive en mousse de grain 220-320.
  4. Éliminez toute la poussière.

Étape 2 : Comment appliquer General Finishes Enduro Clear Poly

AVERTISSEMENT :
N'utilisez PAS GF Enduro Clear Poly ou tout autre revêtement transparent sur des peintures blanches ou claires telles que GF Milk Paint ou GF Enduro White Poly car cela peut provoquer un jaunissement. Toute couche transparente peut devenir réactive sur les substrats en bois ou les finitions existantes, provoquant un dégorgement du tanin ou de la teinture, quel que soit l'apprêt. Toutes les peintures blanches de GF sont auto-scellantes et ne nécessitent PAS de couche de finition.

  1. Travaillez dans un endroit bien aéré.
  2. Bien mélanger pour réincorporer les solides qui se sont déposés au fond de la boîte avant et tout au long du processus d'application.
  3. Testez l'adhérence sur une finition existante.
  4. Diluez selon vos préférences avec de l'eau distillée ; commencer avec 5%, en ajoutant jusqu'à 10% en volume.
  5. Augmentez le temps d'ouverture, si nécessaire, avec 10 à 15 % de General Finishes Extender si les réglementations locales le permettent. GF Extender améliorera le débit et le nivellement et augmentera le temps ouvert, ce qui est utile dans les climats secs.
  6. Pulvérisez à partir du contenant. Appliquer un minimum de 3 couches : des couches supplémentaires peuvent être appliquées pour augmenter la profondeur et la durabilité.
  7. Si on souhaite bâtir un système de couches plus rapidement sur du bois brut, il est possible d'utiliser le Scellant à sabler Enduro pour la première couche.
  8. Finissez le sablage entre les couches avec un tampon abrasif en mousse de qualité fine (220-320) pour améliorer la qualité de la finition et l'adhérence.
  9. Éliminez la poussière avec un aspirateur, de l'air comprimé, un chiffon de dépoussiérage sans huile ou un chiffon imbibé d'eau.

Avertissement : N'utilisez pas de produits à base d'eau avec des huiles de lin ou des huiles danoises.

Couche de finition jaunissante et transparente

Comme c'est le cas pour la plupart des couches de finition « water-white », les finitions à base d'eau de General Finishes sont transparentes et sèches sur des substrats non réactifs, tels que le plastique ou le métal, à l'exception de General Finishes Enduro-Var, qui devient ambre. Lorsque de la peinture blanche scellée avec une couche de finition blanche à l'eau est appliquée sur quelque chose d'aussi imprévisible que le bois, tous les paris sont ouverts et la raison du jaunissement est souvent inconnue. Il peut être causé par la couche de finition activant les tanins dans le bois brut ou par des teintures, des taches ou des contaminants à l'aniline dans une finition préexistante. Ceci est particulièrement évident lors de l'utilisation de peinture BRIGHT WHITE et ce jaunissement se manifeste particulièrement dans les détails sculptés des meubles où la couche de finition peut s'accumuler, intensifiant le changement de couleur à un niveau inacceptable.

Il n'existe aucun moyen fiable de prédire si le jaunissement se produira et dans quelle mesure. Chaque finition existante est différente et nous connaissons rarement la provenance de la finition sur une pièce existante. Chaque arbre est différent et chaque morceau de bois est unique. Le bois brut peut perdre ses tanins immédiatement après le séchage de la couche de finition ou des mois plus tard avec les changements de température saisonniers. Le chêne, le pin, l'acajou et le sapin douglas sont particulièrement sujets au ressuage.

Sommaire

  • Les blancs ont une qualité de « masquage » inférieure et sont plus transparents que la plupart des autres couleurs. Presque tous les blancs brillants nécessitent des couches supplémentaires pour obtenir la couleur souhaitée et minimiser les variations de couleur. Cela peut augmenter le coût de la finition de la peinture. Incluez toujours une clause dans vos contrats traitant du besoin de couches supplémentaires pour obtenir un masquage approprié.
  • Toutes les peintures blanches brillantes jaunissent légèrement avec le temps, avec ou sans couche de finition. Vous avez probablement essayé de retoucher des boiseries blanches dans votre maison après plusieurs années et avez remarqué que la nouvelle peinture est plus brillante.
  • La finition sous-jacente ou les essences de bois peuvent affecter la couleur finale de la peinture claire.
  • Les détails et les coins intérieurs sont difficiles à couvrir avec n'importe quelle couleur de peinture, mais ils ont tendance à être plus visibles avec les blancs. Il s'agit d'un phénomène naturel dans l'application de la peinture et ne constitue pas nécessairement un défaut de la finition de la peinture ou de votre technique.
  • Plus la peinture est poreuse, comme une peinture à la craie, plus le jaunissement est probable. La couche de finition s'infiltre à travers les espaces causés par les plus grosses particules de charge qui donnent aux peintures à la craie leur texture.

Conseils pour éviter le jaunissement

  • S'il s'agit d'un projet à faible utilisation / sollicitation / manipulation, utilisez une peinture blanche de qualité supérieure qui est auto-scellante et ne nécessite pas de couche de finition. Une couche de finition transparente n'est pas requise sur la peinture au lait General Finishes pour une durabilité accrue, car il s'agit d'un revêtement auto-obturant, approprié pour l'extérieur, avec une durabilité élevée et une résistance aux produits chimiques et à l'eau. Cependant, les couches de finition offrent une surface lisse qui est plus facile à nettoyer et augmente la durabilité pour les projets à usage intensif, tels que les dessus de table et les armoires de cuisine.
  • Utilisez un spray professionnel tel que Enduro White Poly. Il a des "propriétés de couche de finition accrues", est une finition autonome lorsque 3 couches sont appliquées et ne nécessite pas de scellement avec une couche de finition.
  • Nous vous recommandons d'utiliser le Bloque-taches General Finishes, une barrière chimique technique, pour empêcher les fuites persistantes pour les projets à usage intérieur.
    • Le Bloque-taches n'adhère pas aux placages d'armoires en mélamine.
    • Le Bloque-taches ne peut pas être teinté.
  • Testez toujours le programme de finition ENTIER de votre projet (du nettoyage à la couche de finition) sur une porte intérieure ou une zone plus cachée de la pièce. Cela n'aidera pas si le jaunissement se produit plus tard, mais au moins vous saurez s'il y a un problème immédiat.
  • Évitez de peindre des meubles d'époque, comme un bureau en acajou serpentine des années 40, avec des couleurs claires. Les pièces étaient souvent finies avec des teintures contenant des colorants à l'aniline, qui jetaient un saignement rosâtre sous une peinture claire. Tous les meubles ne sont pas adaptés à l'upcycling avec une couleur de peinture claire. Le pin, l'acajou et les meubles des années 40 et 50 sont un drapeau rouge ("red flag".
  • Enfin, les finitions de tous les fabricants ne sont pas compatibles avec d'autres finitions et peuvent réagir à un changement de couleur. Suivez toujours les meilleures pratiques en ne vous précipitant pas et en testant d'abord à votre satisfaction.

Noeuds
Les nœuds dans le bois ont tendance à saigner et sont denses, ce qui rend difficile l'adhérence de la peinture et de la teinture. Le Bloque-taches de General Finishes peut améliorer l'adhérence et empêcher les fuites pour les projets de peinture. Les nœuds de pin sont particulièrement difficiles à recouvrir avec des peintures blanches ou claires. Si vous décidez de peindre dessus, appliquez d'abord 3 couches de Bloque-taches; cependant, nous ne pouvons garantir l'adhérence ou le blocage des fuites. Il vaut mieux utiliser une peinture foncée sur du pin.

Variantes

3.78 L · Coloré - Lustré 139,95 $ En stock
3.78 L · Coloré - Mat 139,95 $ En stock
3.78 L · Coloré - Satiné 139,95 $ En stock
3.78 L · Coloré - Semi-lustré 139,95 $ En stock
3.78 L · Lustré 105,95 $ En stock
3.78 L · Mat 105,95 $ En stock
3.78 L · Satiné 105,95 $ En stock
3.78 L · Semi-lustré 105,95 $ En stock

Caractéristiques

Classification Laques pour bois
Marque General Finishes
Format 3.78 L
Vendu depuis 16 novembre 2021
Temps de séchage

Temps de séchage - Toucher : 30+ min.
Temps de séchage - Nouvelle couche : 2+ hr
Temps de séchage - Légère sollicitation : 7-10 jours
Temps de séchage - Cure complète : 21 jours

Pouvoir couvrant

450 pieds carrés par gallon

COV

Mat : 227g/L
Satiné : 230 g/L
Semi-lustré : 210 g/L
Lustré : 233 g/L

Aspect

Liquide blanc clair (transparent une fois sec)

Entreposage

Entreposer à une température supérieure à 10°C et inférieure à 27°C, à l'abri de la lumière du soleil, et fermé hermétiquement. Les préservateurs de finition tels que Bloxygen peuvent aider à prolonger la durée de conservation du produit. Meilleur si utilisé dans l'année suivant la date imprimée sur le contenant du produit.
Un contenant qui n'a pas été ouvert et qui est entreposé convenablement peut être conservé jusqu'à 5 ans.

Lustre

Mat : 10 ou moins
Satiné : 25-35
Semi-lustré : 50-60
Lustré : 80+

Taille de la buse

HVLP: 1.1mm - 1.3mm

Taux de solide

28%

Nombre de couches

3 couches

Méthodes d'application

Pulvérisateur (ce produit ne peut être appliqué manuellement)

Produits similaires

Produits complémentaires

Évaluations

Il n'y a actuellement aucune évaluation pour ce produit. Soyez-le premier à en rédiger une!

          

Politique de vente · Confidentialité · In English